What Do You Mean “In The Countryside”? Continued

My last post was about how I received the news of my appointment somewhere I’d never heard of. Today, I’ll continue telling my story.

So, after the little conversation I had with myself (see the previous post), I thought I needed to get packed and go see how the place really looked like.

To cut a long story short, the place wasn’t a city but it wasn’t a  remote area, either. I made sure it had all  the basic needs; food, electricity, water and internet. This relieved me a bit. However, I noticed something that made me so nervous that I had to make an effort to conceal my feeling. I noticed that nearly everybody in the village was checking me out as if I were a UFO! I didn’t like that feeling at all. Who would?! A line from Metallica’s “Turn The Page” -originally sung by Bob Seger- jumped into my head. It says:

And you feel the eyes upon you. As you‘re shakin’ off the cold. You pretend it doesn’t bother youBut you just want to explode

So, I tried to go on pretending everything was alright even though I got uncomfortable with everybody’s eyes on me. Therefore, I just kept on walking in the summer’s scorching and smothering heat. I walked for a few minutes, then, a 15 year old boy appeared out of nowhere, I asked him what he wanted and he said that I looked stranger and that he wanted to help. I gently thanked him for his offer and I asked him about the school. I learnt he was a student there and that he’d take me to “my” school. I thanked him and followed his steps.

The School:

“There it is” The boy announced.

“Oh yeah, I see!” I briefly and almost unconsciously responded. My mind was busy scanning the area and making as many mental images of the school as possible!

The school looked so huge from the outside. From the inside, however, I noticed it had only two blocks built, whereas, they were working on a new block. What remains of the school was kept for the yard and for sports.

Later, I got to meet one of the veteran teachers there. He was a nice guy. He welcomed me, got me a drink and told me I’d really like it there. I asked him about the students’ level and he said it was “average”, then I asked about their behavior, ten he laughed and said that I had nothing to worry about. He also added that I could depend on him in emergencies. This sounded nice to me. I thanked him a lot and left with thousands of questions still lingering in my head.

TchatcheBlog: college

It was the beginning of the year already, and I saw some students in the school yard as I was I heading out, I heard someone murmuring: “I think this is our new English teacher”, I turned and walked towards them, they looked kind of shocked. I could tell they were afraid I might yell at them, but I just shook hands with them and confirmed their thought, then walked away.

I thought of the students on m way back. I noticed they were older than what one would expect, but still, I thought I’d have more success with older boys and girls than with younger ones. As for the school, I didn’t know what to think of it yet. Nonetheless, I knew I was motivated despite of everything. I knew I was really willing to give the best of me, and offer those kids new and different opportunities to learn, and new perspectives so that they would look at the world differently.

So…?

So, here I got to dragging myself into believing that being in a countryside would help me shape a better and stronger personality and would help me progress as a teacher since I imagined I’d deal with situations that are unique to the countryside that people in big cities would never experience.

I thought of my dreams and frustrations. I thought of my family and my future. I thought of the things I would no longer be able to do. I thought of all that and decided I had to postpone things, that I didn’t decide anything and that I had to be patient fo my dreams to come true.

Therefore, I had to “Turn The Page” on getting a higher degree, being in a nice city and all the commodities of living in a city have gone away. However, I chose to be positive and thanked God that transportation was available in my new place. I decided to postpone some dreams and HAD to look for new ones.

First lesson: I learnt I was flexible.

Rain Dancer

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “What Do You Mean “In The Countryside”? Continued”

  1. Lynne Diligent says :

    I enjoyed reading about your feelings when you first arrived in your new town and your new school. Over the years, other foreigners have commented to me that they’ve gotten very tired of people STARING at them in the town, or in the city. (Aren’t people taught that it’s not polite to stare?) What’s interesting about this is that it happened to you, too, not a foreigner in your own country, but merely someone not from that town. I wonder what they were thinking. Did they think you were young to be the new English teacher? Did they look at your face and immediately recognize you were not from that area, and were therefore a stranger, or was it your dress and way of walking and looking around that tipped them off? People are always asking these same questions of themselves in my city, too. I love the photo you used of the growing tree in your hands.

    • raindancer86 says :

      Thank you Lynne,
      Usually, people living in small towns know each other since the number of the inhabitants is very limited. Therefore, whenever a new person arrives in a certain town, everybody notices him/her.
      Personally, I was taught that staring at people was an inappropriate behavior. However, it seems that not everybody taught their kids not to stare at people.

      Thank you very much for passing by.

  2. mstafa says :

    so amazing story, this another lesson to say esp for new teachers,the country side should not alwys be seen in a negative way. it is very true that so many needs can’t be available there and some dreams may be postponed but still the country side may offer a unique oportunities for work with those poor students. believe me that so many teachers prefer to work in such areas where students still kiss their teachers hands rather than big cities where teachers are nowadays threatened using knives .

    • raindancer86 says :

      Thank you Mstafa,
      I agree that the city has become a dangerous place for teachers now. Nevertheless, we can’t deny that it gives much more professional development opportunities than the countryside.
      But you were right in saying that teaching in the countryside has its benefits, too.
      Stay tuned for more. Your opinion is important.

      Rain Dancer

  3. Arbi says :

    Though a teacher, being appointed to a place you” have never heard of” is somewhat a blessing and a precious opportunity to learn about the community and test your social as well as “geographical” adptability. And as you eloquently said in your article, such a unique experience is likely to “build your character”. As to your dreams of furthering your studies, I don’t think it’s good option to postone them. Remote are no secluded thanks to the web. Though “being there’, you can still professionally develop through preparing an MA or or even a PhD in the distance learning mode. When there’ a will, there surely will be WAYS! Plus, the countryside, to my mind, is perhaps the most ideal and distraction-free place one would need to “recompose” the world and cogitate;-) Best of lucks.

    • raindancer86 says :

      Thank you very much Arbi.
      Your comment is so valuable and interesting. I think you have some good points there. However, regarding the professional development point, it’s sad that online courses are not valuable in my place. That is even if I decided to go for an online course, my degree would never be accepted by the local authorities, and will therefore be a big waste of time and money. I’m sure I’d learn a lot of things but still, one wouldn’t want to spend big amounts of money just to find out their degree doesn’t have accreditation.
      Thanks again Arbi and stay tuned for more.
      Rain Dancer

  4. youssef says :

    there are some masters which require attendance twice or three time a week! in many delegations; especially remote areas, teachers either work three days of the beginning of the week or the three remaining days!! I guess u have opportunity to have ur master while ur in the countryside waiting for your mutation lol

Leave a Reply

Bruce A Stewart

A Mind Ever Searching

Topical Teaching

Time to Challenge the Stigma of the Classroom

teflresearch

Bringing language research into the classroom

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Intentions Into Reality

The Art of Becoming, through Taking Action Steps to Manifest Our Passions

shredsofhershatteredself

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Dilemmas of an Expat Tutor

Educational Dilemmas Faced by Students, Teachers, and Parents Around-the-Globe, by Lynne Diligent

Bite Size Canada

Canadian trivia and history in bite size chunks!

Stcarriescenter's Weblog

Promoting peace, friendship and knowledge

Halina's English Academy

Education, English, Teaching, Learning,Online, Technology, Course, Classes

EduFactory!

Disassembling the neoliberal university

ChangingWinds

Your knowledge portal to leadership and management

Intercultural Meanderings

Intercultural Business issues, Expat Issues, and Multicultural Issues of All Types, by Lynne Diligent

Reflections of a Neophyte Teacher

From the heart, to the world.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

