Rules and Dreamless Students

The problems I started seeing myself immersing into did have an impact on me. I started seeing that I would be dragged into becoming the teacher I didn’t want to be. Which means; using a lot of chalk and talk, being 100 percent dependent on the textbook, and trying to fill the students’ heads with as much information as possible. Therefore, I had to come up with a plan of action and start putting it in use before frustration gets me down.

Therefore, I got myself busy writing some objectives that I thought I wanted to achieve during my first school year. These included preparing the best lesson plans possible, making learning “FUNtastic” and introducing the notion of “edutainment” to my school, keeping a diary to reflect on my teaching and my students’ learning, a research on motivation as well as collecting a teacher portfolio.  Also, I thought of attending as many symposiums and conferences as possible. I thought they were very crucial for any teacher’s professional development and that attending and taking an active part in them would make me a better teacher.

Back to school now. It was time to officially start the year. This means I’d be receiving students for the first time. “Huge!” I thought. During the first session, 20 students attended (out of 45), it was very normal for students not to come regularly on the beginning of the year. Even though the number of students attending was less than half of the class, I thought I should talk to them about the guidelines that would guide our work, the rules that we needed to respect and ask them about their expectations.

Generally, I have two main rules that I tell everyone that they should stick to and follow. The first is “RESPECT”, and the second is “DREAM BIG”. I wrote those two rules on the blackboard as big and clear as I could and as the very little chalk I had permitted. I explained that respect was very important to the process, that without respect we wouldn’t go anywhere. I emphasized that respect didn’t mean they had to be afraid of me, but to respect time, colleagues, the course book and other teachers and subjects. I added that to prove that I believed in respect, I wouldn’t wait for them to respect me but I’d start respecting them first. That’s why I asked them to bring badges and write their names on them so that I’d call them by their names instead of numbers or just the famous “Hey, you!”. This was new to them, no teacher had ever done this with them, so they appreciated the idea.

In addition to this, I explained that I believed in democracy and that it was important for me to know their opinions and what they think is good or bad. I said I believed in freedom of speech and that I’d let them criticize me as long as the criticism is respectful. I never REALLY understood what “to be taken by a storm” meant until that day looking at their faces as I was speaking. Some were literally mouth open, and others were just gazing in pure amazement. I thought this was a positive point. Getting students’ attention and making them follow what you say without feeling bored is every teacher’s dream.

Then, I started addressing the second rule; “dream big”. I asked them, “what are your dreams?” They replied with bewildered looks. I waited for a moment then paraphrased: “What do you want to become in the future?” No answer yet. I thought they needed an example, so I started explaining that everyone has dreams. Some people want to become doctors or lawyers because they think that by practicing these professions they’d be serving the community, making their parents proud or just because they pay well. Other people might choose to become soldiers because they might think that there is nothing holier than defending one’s nation and people. Meanwhile, others might prefer to become artists so that to express their emotions through the magic of art. “Now what about you? What do you want to do in the future?” Still no answer. “Ok, let’s take me as an example” I started, “I’m a teacher, but I still have some dreams that I want to accomplish, I want to become a writer, a photographer and a university teacher”. They followed every word I said with the greatest interest and “hunger” I ever witnessed. I understood no one had ever talked to them about their dreams before.

At this particular point, I started to feel uncomfortable and even shocked. I knew there were many students in each class (40 to 47). I knew they belonged to different age groups (14-21). I knew 65 percent of them were repeating the year. I knew many of them had to walk for 4 or 5 km to get to school, but knowing that they didn’t even know what school was for, and that they didn’t know what they wanted to do with their lives was mind-blowing.

I thought they needed to be familiarized even more with the notion of “dreaming”. So, I explained that every person has something special about him/her, that we are all different yet the same, and that our uniqueness is expressed through the things we love the most. Then I added that in order to become successful and glorify this uniqueness we need to believe in ourselves and our abilities and skills. I looked at a girl into the eyes and said: “If you can draw, then you might become an artist”, then I moved to a boy and said: “…And if you can play football, then you might turn professional”… Then I went back to the front of the class, I made sure they all had their eyes on me and I enthusiastically said: “The people who appear on TV are NOT better than you. You can be like them or even better, it just takes passion, devotion and hard work…”

I saw these words breaking the imaginary walls they had in their minds. I saw boys nodding in agreement, and girls shyly smiling in appreciation. I saw them literally changing their minds. I saw motivation in their eyes. I saw that and thought: “Boy, I’m charismatic!”

Then I changed the tone of my voice and said: “Ok, now I want you to think of the things that you love the most and try to come up with possible dream jobs”. I really wanted them to do this, so I explained that it was not a contest, and that there were no wrong answers. A few minutes later, I finally got some answers. Their answers were not extremely varied, it seemed that they all wanted to do the same things, and most of them just repeated the examples I gave before. Consequently, they said that they wanted to become poets, painters, teachers and writers. Again, I said that these things were extremely great and satisfying jobs, but that they needed to dig even further, maybe they’d find something more interesting that they really like based on their real skills and preferences and not based on the examples presented by the teacher. They promised to do so, and I understood there was a long way to walk before I get them to where they needed to be.

–Rain Dancer

Tags: ,

11 responses to “Rules and Dreamless Students”

  1. Hildegard Morales says :

    I have read attentively your blog production, dear Rain Dancer.. I LIKED IT.

    The sharing of what you have lived when initiating your teaching career is of great value. Valuable for teachers like you, wondering about how to move away from the traditional teaching constructs, that have prevailed until the present….and in many places it WILL continue the tradition of full textbook oriented teaching, and teaching to the tests, with passive students- because it is expected from students to show respect in the classroom..and that is.measured by their silence. So you bring a very refreshing approach to teaching that I only wish more teachers join in your positive energy to have students motivated and willing to be active part of their learning. And become students with an identity…which comes when teachers address learners by their name.. So the tag with their name is very important…and it is and will always be a reason to develop connectedness.

    Then, the second issue. You invited them…TO DREAM BIG!
    and ” surprise -surprise,,,they had no idea of what you were talking about.. You opened the door to their imagination….and they will never be the same.
    Our students need to hear their teacherS and family that they have a potential to pursue what they would like to do, and be in life. And if parents have not done it , teachers become the trail breakers of their future.
    Be happy if some will come to you and ask you more about their dreams. If you have touched one life…you have done your job,

    And..Rain Dancer, . keep on dancing.
    I look forward to more “steps”. Education and your country need innovation…Cheers!

    Hildegard, a retired teacher,with a mission….

    • RainDancer says :

      Thank you very much Hildegard for your time and great reply.
      I’m doing my best with my students. I know I can’t expect immediate improvement, so, I hope I touched some of the so many lives I had in my classrooms.
      Thank you again for your encouragement.
      Stay tuned for more 🙂

  2. Zoe says :

    I agree wholeheartedly with Hildegard.

    You have flair and imagination and other teachers should learn from your example. You have the makings of a great teacher, with a passion for teaching… Keep up your excellent work!

  3. halinakasia says :

    Reblogged this on Halina's Blog and commented:
    I am happy to find the teacher like this.
    Halina

  4. Lynne Diligent says :

    Speaking as a teacher of many years, myself, as I read about your discussing hopes and dreams with students, I felt that I wanted be one of the students in your class! If I felt that way reading your blog post, I am sure your students must have felt the same way.

    The one thing that really shocked me about this post is that you say teachers in your country do not habitually address each student by their first name? How unbelievable. Why is this????? In the West, teachers are expected to learn the names of all of their students. This usually takes about three weeks. The best method for doing it, we find, is passing back graded papers and calling students by name when doing so. In each Middle School class, we would typically pass back graded papers on assignments approximately twice each week. We also take attendance and have classroom discussions in which we call on students by first name.

    This is the post of yours which I enjoyed most so far.

    • RainDancer says :

      Thank you very much Lynne. 🙂

      I’d be honoured to have you as a student in my class!
      Yes, not all teachers call students by their names. This is mainly due to the problem of class size. In my case I had 13 classes, each class is 40 to 47 students and I only see each class once a week. In elementary school however, teachers usually have 2 classes of 40 kids, and they see them everyday. So, it’s much easier for them to memorize all the names.
      When taking attendance some teachers use numbers. So, instead of calling each student by his or her name they just call them by their numbers (Which the students already know). It saves time and effort indeed, but I agree that it’s not ethical.

      I’m so glad that you enjoyed this post. This will make me work on my coming posts even more enthusiastically. 😀

  5. Ikram Benzouine says :

    Your students must be proud of you, and you have the absolute right to announe that you’re a teacher PAR EXCELLENCE. Sadly, many teachers do not even allot time for their students to think outside the box. I believe your students cherish you for opening their eyes to something called “DREAM”. Their appreciation to yourself will unquestionably grow as time passes by.

    Personally, I learnt a lot from this well-worded article.
    Thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

Bruce A Stewart

A Mind Ever Searching

Topical Teaching

Time to Challenge the Stigma of the Classroom

teflresearch

Bringing language research into the classroom

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Intentions Into Reality

The Art of Becoming, through Taking Action Steps to Manifest Our Passions

shredsofhershatteredself

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Dilemmas of an Expat Tutor

Educational Dilemmas Faced by Students, Teachers, and Parents Around-the-Globe, by Lynne Diligent

Bite Size Canada

Canadian trivia and history in bite size chunks!

Stcarriescenter's Weblog

Promoting peace, friendship and knowledge

Halina's English Academy

Education, English, Teaching, Learning,Online, Technology, Course, Classes

EduFactory!

Disassembling the neoliberal university

ChangingWinds

Your knowledge portal to leadership and management

Intercultural Meanderings

Intercultural Business issues, Expat Issues, and Multicultural Issues of All Types, by Lynne Diligent

Reflections of a Neophyte Teacher

From the heart, to the world.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

